Posted on

meaningful quote

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

“Sometimes you have to step outside the person you’ve been and remember the person you were meant to be. The person you wanted to be. The person you are.”

 

I came across this quote while watching the show One Tree Hill. At the time I would going through some problems. I had been doing a lot of stuff that normally i wouldn’t have. I was lost.. and i knew it.. and I didn’t know how i got to that point. I would try to remember when was it? what exactly happened? what event? or problem? or decision did led to me becoming this person. A person I no longer recognized. someone I wasn’t proud of. Someone I knew my dad (R.I.P) wouldn’t be proud of. Then I heard this over the TV and i realized none of it matters. Not how, or why, or when, I got to be this person. All that matters is the person I’ve been doesn’t have to be the person I am. That as long as i was alive I could change and i could become the person I want to be. Someone my dad (and I) would be proud of. And anytime I find myself disappointed in what I’m doing, the decisions I’ve made, or the person I’m starting to be, I remember It’s never to late to change. I can always become the person I am meant to be.

About thegirlfromthatplace

22, College Student Adult Child of Alcoholic/Addict

Leave a Reply

